In my various trips to the remote corners of the island, I had the immense pleasure of meeting women, wives, mothers, farmers, craftswomen, seamstresses… wonderful. Actresses lurking deep in their homes, behind their veil of discretion and resignation, their silence and their thousand daily chores which seem obvious to them in their share of obligations, these women are often forgotten, erased.
Women resigned to dull their light and their spark. Forget their being, their existence, while giving all their strength, their love and their capacity to accompany man, to take care of his hearth, his children often in large numbers, and everything that surrounds him.
Rose, Amélie, Denise, Bertine, Marie, Lala, Fara, … and many others… follow the same rhythm. Getting up even before the moon has finished its rounds, before the rooster even starts to crow. Get down to the stove, fold the laundry, tidy up, prepare the coffee, try to find a piece of “gas bread” or cassava, or cook rice for his family's breakfast. Then wake up the children, dress them, invite them to eat, check their things, kiss them and invite them to leave for school. Then join the Gite d’Accueil to ensure the services of the traveling customers, check if everything is in order, if the customers are comfortable… prepare, serve, clear… But above all " with smile ". This smile which remains their strength and their light, this human warmth which sums up their way of being. Then continue with activities in the fields, walking for hours, because nothing stops them. Or tackle the activities they have created for themselves to help provide for the needs of their family… Decrepit hands, worn feet, emaciated face… They stay strong and upright.
Never stop, never give up… Do everything… accomplish everything… without complaining, despite everyday problems, fatigue, doubts, anxieties... And even doing more than necessary... because "who will do it?" »
These rural people, these women certainly did not have the opportunity to go to school, to know all the news and trends from the rest of the world, but these socio-cultural norms and stereotypes of “country people ” and “women” » cause them to lose confidence in their wealth and in their ability to accept a position that others impose on them. Considered "incompetent, ignorant, incapable, … “, they are however strong experiences in connection with nature and all that surrounds it, full of strength and will, of relentlessness, accustomed to hard work in the fields and others, not counting the hours in the sun , in the rain, know techniques that are often improbable but which work, …
These people are admirable, respectful, courageous, and full of life… Their smiles and warmth are contagious. We learn a lot from their simplicity, their joy of living with the little they have, their courage, their hope, their aggressiveness, their belief in tomorrow, because they say "God will always be by our side".

Their work is grandiose, but they lack consideration, attention and enhancement.

 

close

send to continue your trip all year round?

Receive our tips and unusual travel ideas twice a month directly in your mailbox!

We don't send spam! Read our privacy policy for more information.

Dans mes divers déplacements dans les coins reculés de l’île, j’ai eu l’immense bonheur de rencontrer de femmes, épouses, mères, agricultrices, artisanes, couturières… merveilleuses. Actrices tapies au fin fond leur foyer, derrière leur voile de discrétion et de résignation, leur silence et leur mille besognes quotidiennes qui leur semblent une évidence à leur part d’obligations, ces femmes sont souvent oubliées, effacées.
Des femmes résignées à ternir leur lumière et leur étincelle. Oublier leur être, leur existence, tout en donnant toute leur force, leur amour et leur capacité pour accompagner l’homme, s’occuper de son âtre, de ses enfants souvent en grand nombre, et de tout ce qui l’entoure.
Rose, Amélie, Denise, Bertine, Marie, Lala, Fara, … et bien d’autres… épousent le même rythme. Se lever avant même que la lune n’ait fini sa ronde, avant même que le coq ne se mette à chanter. S’atteler au fourneau, plier le linge, ranger, préparer le café, tenter de trouver un bout de “mofo gasy” ou de manioc, ou cuire le riz pour le petit déjeuner de sa famille. Réveiller ensuite les enfants, les habiller, les inviter à manger, vérifier leurs affaires, les embrasser et les inviter à partir pour l’école. Rejoindre ensuite le Gite d’Accueil pour assurer les prestations des clients voyageurs, vérifier si tout est en ordre, si les clients sont à leur aise… Préparer, servir, débarrasser… Mais surtout « sourire ». Ce sourire qui reste leur force et leur lumière, cette chaleur humaine qui résume leur manière d’être. Continuer ensuite par des activités dans les champs, marcher des heures, car rien ne les arrête. Ou s’atteler aux activités qu’elles se sont créées pour aider à subvenir aux besoins de sa famille… Les mains décrépies, les pieds usés, le visage émacié… Elles restent fortes et debout.
Ne jamais s’arrêter, ne jamais baisser les bras… Tout faire… tout accomplir… sans se plaindre, malgré les problèmes du quotidien, la fatigue, les doutes, les angoisses… Et même faire plus qu’il ne faudra… parce que « qui le fera ? »
Ces personnes de campagnes, ces femmes n’ont pas eu certainement la possibilité d’aller à l’école, de connaitre toutes les nouvelles et les tendances du reste du monde, mais ces normes et stéréotypes socioculturelles de “personnes de campagne ” et “femmes” » leur font perdre confiance en leur richesse et en leur capacité, accepter une position que les autres leur impose. Jugées « incompétentes, ignorantes, incapables, … », elles sont pourtant fortes d’expériences en lien avec la nature et tout ce qui l’entoure, pleines de force et de volonté, d’acharnement, habituées à de durs travaux des champs et autres, ne comptant pas les heures au soleil, sous la pluie, connaissent des techniques souvent improbables mais qui marchent, …
Ces personnes sont admirables, respectueuses, courageuses, et pleines de vie… Leurs sourires et leurs chaleurs sont contagieux. Nous apprenons beaucoup de leur simplicité, de leur joie de vivre avec le peu qu’elles ont, leur courage, leur espoir, leur hargne, leur croyance au lendemain, car disent elles « Dieu sera toujours à nos côtés ».

Leur travail est grandiose, mais elles manquent de considération, d’attention et de mise en valeur.

 

close

Envie de poursuivre votre voyage toute l'année?

Recevez deux fois par mois nos bons plans et idées voyages insolites directement dans votre boite mail!

Nous n’envoyons pas de messages indésirables ! Lisez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.