Myths and associated practices testify to the rich relationships that human populations have had with lemurs., endemic animals of the island, since the arrival of men in Madagascar. Representations of lemurs differ in every part of the territory : Founding ancestors, benefactors, forbidden (on the hunt, to consumption, touch), Holy, tamed, dreaded or bad luck, lemurs occupy many statuses at the heart of the Malagasy bestiary. Some traditions weaken their existence, others, on the contrary, participate in their preservation.

Come according to all assumptions from the Indonesian and African coasts, the first human settlements gradually adapted their beliefs and customs to their new environment, giving birth to mythical tales, specific rites and representations that highlight the multiple links that humans have developed with their natural environment.

The Malagasy give lemurs multiple statuses accompanied by names, prohibitions, of attributions and practices that are sometimes antagonistic from one point to another of the territory.

Some lemurs, related to the human species through "tantara" (tales and stories), are revered and fady (forbidden), others attached to the royal family are sacred (masina) and have the power to answer. More besides, on the contrary, bring great misfortunes as is the case with Aye-aye in most of the eastern region.

Anyway, this cultural relationship between lemurs and humans maintains in a very limited space the future of these wild beings threatened everywhere in its habitat but also in the human spirits.

credit photo VELIZAR SIMEONOVSKI

Les mythes et les pratiques associées témoignent de la richesse des relations que les populations humaines ont entretenu avec les lémuriens, animaux endémiques de l’île, depuis l’arrivée des hommes à Madagascar. Les représentations à l’égard des lémuriens diffèrent en tout point du territoire : Ancêtres fondateurs, bienfaiteurs, interdits (à la chasse, à la consommation, au toucher), sacrés, apprivoisés, redoutés ou portes malheur, les lémuriens occupent de nombreux statuts au cœur du bestiaire malgache. Certaines traditions fragilisent leur existence, d’autres au contraire participent à leur préservation.

Venus selon toutes hypothèses des côtes indonésiennes et africaines, les premiers peuplements humains adaptèrent progressivement leurs croyances et leurs coutumes à leur nouvel environnement, donnant naissance à des récits mythiques, des rites et des représentations spécifiques qui mettent en exergue des liens multiples que les hommes développèrent avec leur milieu naturel.

Les Malgaches attribuent aux lémuriens des statuts multiples accompagnés de noms, d’interdits, d’attributions et de pratiques parfois antagonistes d’un point à l’autre du territoire.

Certains lémuriens, apparentés à l’espèce humaine au travers des « tantara » (contes et histoires), sont vénérés et fady (interdits), d’autres rattachés à la famille royale sont sacrés (masina) et ont un pouvoir d’exaucement. D’autres encore, tout au contraire, sont porteurs de grands malheurs comme c’est le cas du Aye-aye dans presque toute la région de l’Est.

Quoi qu’il en soit, cette relation culturelle entre les lémuriens et les hommes maintient dans un espace très restreint le devenir de ces êtres sauvages menacés de tout part dans son habitat mais aussi dans les esprits.

crédit photo VELIZAR SIMEONOVSKI